top of page
Search
  • runwayfarms

Humble Beginnings

T

There we are. February 2021. Sitting on the porch of our new house with huge smiles wondering how we were ever so blessed to have all of our dreams come true.

My husband, Cameron, has talked about owning land since the day I met him. I considered him a crazy dreamer (I still might). He is a chaser and a "do-er". I am more laid back and get caught in the luxury of being comfortable. Comfortable is exactly what I was in our house on Blue Mountain. Quiet mountain living had its perks. However, quiet mountain living didn't have pasture and critters.

I started farm searching a few years back and the pandemic then hit and Cameron and I found ourselves wanting to become self sustainable all the more. My search continued through all of 2020 until December when we had almost given up. Long story short, our property came up on the market. We looked at it and Cameron wanted to put an offer in once he saw the land. He told me he didn't even need to see the inside of the house. This was it.

Family and friends believed we were crazy, and I guess that is okay. We took ourselves and every little bit of crazy and went on down the road.

I had my first real garden in the summer of 2021. I found out just how much I love getting my hands dirty pulling out veggies and weeds! Cameron and I butchered our first flock of meat birds, harvested our first turkey's and started our own flock of chickens, also, in the summer of 2021.

We hope to make a life of farming. We hope to make a life growing quality food for family, friends and customers. God put us here for a reason and we want to bless everyone we can. There is so much reward in growing an animal. We have so much appreciation for every meal now as we know where it comes from. We know the life it had, the hard work that went into its growth and also, the love that the animal received while it was here.

Thank you for making our dreams possible and for helping us to grow on our journey!

202 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Worried

We put our little meat birds out on the pasture. Finally! My husband and I were beyond ready to get them out of our small barn and into the outdoors. As it is early March, the temperatures in our neck

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page